Cloud Escapes

Two Buddhas in Conversation is an ancient Chinese (I think) bronze sculpture, which I have never seen. I read about it years ago, and the name has always stuck with me, mostly in association to photography – the conversation, if you will, between darkenss and light, between form and emptiness. I think that is why I am so attracted to black and white photography.

Since I started this blog, I have been casting about for something to write about. I don’t want to write about the photographs – if I can say it in words, why bother with the photograph – but I didn’t know what else to write about. Yesterday I read a few blogs written by people with MS, writing about their experiences with it, and the little lightbulb went on, and I thouht I’d see how writing about my experiences with MS felt. You’ll have to let me know how I’m doing.

We have a lot of snow here in Maine, about a foot fell yesterday. The woods around my house are beautiful, and I would love to strap on my snowshoes and go out into it – with camera or without. There is something very special about the winter woods, something quite magical. But I feel how heavy my legs are, just going up the stairs, and how my back and arms felt after 15 minutes of shoveling yesterday, and I know I would not get far. I am scared that I’d fall down and not be able to get up. I have this image of myself crawling back to the house thru three feet of snow. Another thing I have to give up and get over?

Maybe I’ll go out anyway.

Leave a Reply

