Marked Trail

mary and mark
My new hobby. Probably violates all sorts of copyright laws.

I used to participate in this forum when I was first diagnosed. I got a lot of great “community”, and some answers to a few questions. I’ve been back a few times recently, and find it to be a very friendly group.

There is a very good chapter in Climbing Higher about depression. I think I’ve mentioned it before. Each night, when I tuck myself into bed – after doing my shot of Rebif, taking my blood pressure medication and Neurontin to ward off leg cramps, and after I put in my mouth guard to keep me from grinding down what is left of my teeth, and after I strap on the CPAP mask so I don’t apnea all night – then if I can fall asleep without Ambien, I find that, like Montel, I feel I have plenty to be depressed about.

But, like the rest of you I’m sure, I work hard at staying on top of that wave, of not allowing the darkness to cover me over. I’ve been at the bottom of that hole, and I make a concerted effort not to fall into it again.

Anyway, I think it is important to be aware that there are some very real reasons for those feelings of depression that we all feel from time to time. Stay open to every aspect of your life, the shadows and the light, and keep yourself open to other people.

One thought on “Marked Trail

Leave a Reply

