woodchopper

I’ve had this t-shirt that was given to me by the good folks at The Accelerated Cure Project for some time. They gave it to me for free – all they asked is that I send them a picture of me wearing it, hopefully doing something interesting. I’m not sure how interesting this is, but it’s something I love to do and, well, I felt bad taking their shirt and not sending a picture.

When my dad was here for a visit recently, he asked me, very sincerly, how I was doing. I brushed him off, just because I didn’t want to get into a big conversation about my health while he was visiting. He and my step-mother were only here overnight, and I wanted to talk about other things. But I felt bad for brushing him off, so I wrote him a long and quite honest letter, telling him about how I have limited physical stamina, and how I can’t do things – like working out in the forest all day – like I used to.

He wrote back that he, at 73, is facing a lot of those same issues. While he’s still out mowing his fields and cutting his own firewood, he knows that sometime in the near future he won’t be able to do as much. And the thought really bothers him. Just like it does me.

Funny to think that he and I are dealing with the same issues – different source, but the same issues.

Leave a Reply

