Azathioprine for MS?

This caught my eye, as it involves an antirejection drug my daughter (a transplant recipient) used to take. My neurologist said, when I was first diagnosed with multiple sclerosis, that this was a good time for MS people, because it was the most heavily studied disease, and that there was so much money to be made in the discovery of new, perhaps more effective treatment, that he felt sure there would be new treatments – and maybe a cure – in the near future. I do see a lot of news items about drug therapies and treatments, so maybe he’s right.

I wish someone would do clinical studies of dietary treatment for multiple sclerosis, specifically the Swank Diet. There are a lot of people who swear by it, and claim that it makes a huge difference, and allows them to keep their MS stable without self-injected drugs. It’s not easy – it requires a strictly monitored extremely low fat diet – but if it really is as effective as these people claim, more people should know about it. The cynic in me knows that there is no money to be made with the Swank Diet, so no one will invest in the research. The anecdotal evidence is pretty strong, though, so maybe there is some validity in it.

2 thoughts on “Azathioprine for MS?

  1. Just want to say hello and introduce myself. I am Clare and was diagnosed in 1999 with RR MS. I have two grown children, two dogs and one husband. Recently, I started a blog which was a challenge since I am only semi-computer literate. I enjoyed reading your comments.

    Best, Clare

  2. Hi. I was diagnosed in June of 2003. Just like Clare99, I recently started a blog and am looking for more people like me to share thoughts and info.

Leave a Reply

