end of an era

pink flowers
thought we all might like to see a little pink flower, now that we’re actually in winter.

today was my last day as webmaster. i’ve spent this past week training my replacement – stressful and exhausting as much from the abrupt change in routine as it was for having to dredge up and communicate practices and methods that have become second nature to me over the course of the three years i’ve been doing it. but what i have been waiting for since thanksgiving is here – i’m out, and will start on monday training for my new role as a phone rep. i’m not a great phone person, but my hope is that this will be a lower-stress job, which will leave me more energy for things i really love, like photography and music. we shall see.

and i think i can stand up and say that i am all in favor of hillary clinton’s candidacy. i’m not a huge i-love-hillary fan, and i will reserve final judgement until well into the campaign, when we can see more of what she is made of, but i’m all in favor of giving women a shot at running things. men have had the helm for an awfully long time, and while i think on the whole, they’ve done a good job building governments and civilization and such (hey, i know they didn’t do it alone, behind every great man is a great woman), but i think it’s high time to let women drive. i’d love to have hillary rattle the cage. can’t you just see her and sam brownback in a debate?

i just replaced our old, dying cd player with a machine that holds 300 cds, like a jukebox, and i’ve been discovering old favorites as i’ve been loading them in – like beyond music by bobby mcferrin. he might be an acquired taste, but i think he’s brilliant, and i love this cd.

one last thing, if you don’t already know about it, i highly recommend igive.com for your online shopping. they have a huge selection of merchants, and you can donate a certain (small) percentage of your purchase to a worthy cause (such as the ms society). i gave my account information to my family, and asked them to do their shopping thru igive.

4 thoughts on “end of an era

  1. Hey, surfed into your blog and you’re clearly a guy who wants to rattle the right cage (I too hope Hillary will do it, but I also like John Edwards and Dennis Kucinich — we’ll see how it works out), and a guy who cares about the world, other people. So why igive? You’re right about them giving a little! There are much more generous charity malls out there. My favorite is HEARTof.com. Like igive, its got a lot of stores — 672, the last time I looked, including the big ones like Amazon, Lands End, Sears, an so on. What makesHEARTof.com so great is that it pays your chosen cause the most generous donations for sites of this kind — on averageHEARTof.com donates twice the percentage of purchase prices that igive does. That makes a big difference for you and your cause.

  2. I empathize with you on the stress of training a replacement. When I left California 10 months ago I had been on the job for almost 13 years. I thought it appropriate to give my boss a 2 months’ notice. He hired my replacement and gave me 1 week to train him. That would be the last week of my employment with him. It was time consuming and stressful to say the least.

    I’m going to take a cue from that boss and not make up my mind until it is crunch time when it comes to the next exalted ruler. I think that I will lean toward whomever it is that does not have a – my opponent did or didn’t do that – kind of campaign. Someone who actually tells me what they are going to do. Perhaps, I hope for too much!

    I will check out your online shopping site(s). However when it comes to clothing or fabric, I need tactility.

    I hope that you enjoy your new position, and believe as you do that it is the tactic to get you what you are looking for.

  3. Do you know it took me 4 attempts to post my comment. Tai chi is obviously not helping with the fat fingers thing! I forgot to mention that the little flower is refreshing.

Leave a Reply

