thinking (slowly) of spring

lady slipper bud
not really a spring flower, but i’m hoping that visualizing green things growing will help melt this persistent glacier. like in the woodstock movie, maybe if we all chant we can melt this snow….

i have discovered a new symptom while doing some reading about fatigue: cognitive fatigue. it was one of those things where i was reading along, and came across a discussion of cognitive fatigue and the little lightbulb went on over my head (a 40 watt bulb). it explained a lot, and described perfectly how i feel towards the end of my day – keying in credit card numbers and customer numbers and product numbers and reading order totals and phone numbers, responding to customer questions, and navigating our archaic order entry system – how it all gets more difficult as the day wears on. i can still do it fine, it just all slows down and requires more brow-furrowing. at least i have a lot of brow to work with (receding hairline joke.)

we have seen a dramatic number of deer in the yard this past few days, i wonder if it has anything to do with the late snow and cold temperatures, after a week or so of spring. maybe their internal clocks are a little haywire, like the rest of us. i kept thinking of the movie, the lion king: “the herd is on the move!”

2 thoughts on “thinking (slowly) of spring

  1. Hey Brother! Yes, I am reading you blog and was surprisedto stumble upon myself in it. Wow, I feel famous. I think I am pretty much ok with my diagnosis. I keep telling people who look at me with horror and “I’m so sorry,” when I tell them and say, well, there’s a lot worse things that could have happened to me. Heck, I could be hit by a bus on my way home today. So, onward I go, with a new puppy who needs to be walked and a new house to plan for. Life goes on and so do I. Not to worry about theheat or the stress of teaching. I have AC and am lucky to have a relatively low stress outlook on life. It gets done when it gets done.

    See ya soon.
    A

  2. Hey Brother! Yes, I am reading you blog and was surprisedto stumble upon myself in it. Wow, I feel famous. I think I am pretty much ok with my diagnosis. I keep telling people who look at me with horror and “I’m so sorry,” when I tell them and say, well, there’s a lot worse things that could have happened to me. Heck, I could be hit by a bus on my way home today. So, onward I go, with a new puppy who needs to be walked and a new house to plan for. Life goes on and so do I. Not to worry about theheat or the stress of teaching. I have AC and am lucky to have a relatively low stress outlook on life. It gets done when it gets done.

    See ya soon.
    A

Leave a Reply

