my left foot redux

i got the gadget installed, and i’ve been driving around (illegally) for a few days – illegally because i’m supposed to have the dmv test me and put a notation on my license that i drive with the wrong foot. there are, i’m sure, insurance ramifications as well.

afterwards i spent some time in north dixmont, where my family is originaly from. i found the cemetery where my namesake stephen edward is buried, along with his wife may (and a sad little stone marked “little may”)

stephen edward's grave

i also ran into some folks who were just leaving, one of whom (a distant cousin or something) took my name and email address and said she had a big file of historical information that she promised to send, and an old duffer who pointed out another grave marker, a big white obelisk, of stephen edward’s father william. i am facinated with geneology, and have traced my father’s side back to william sr. (1802) and my father’s mother’s family (bushnell) back to 1434. my wife just brought a folder of papers back from her mother’s house tracing her grandfather’s family back to austro-hungary in 1834. very cool stuff. it was a serendipitous trip. and nice to see flowers, even if they were fake, and a flag at the grave.

3 thoughts on “my left foot redux

  1. One of my favorite things to do on vacations during idle time is to walk through old cemeteries – especially church cemeteries. They totally fascinate me. I have retraced my family geneology back to 1699 and it is a fascinating hobby. I’m glad your mate has it in common with you.

  2. Mr Harris … Please step out of the car … no, other foot first. We are the CripCops, you are under arrest for trying to live your life to the fullest. Please comply or we will have to Revoke your ADA protections!

  3. mdm- that is hilarious.

    stephen and Anne- I also have traced my family tree way back. There’s one line which I’ve made through 20 generations. Pretty cool information just waiting to be found.

Leave a Reply

