lovely day

finally – it’s not raining (in maine), sunny and a lovely summer day. perfect for my daughter’s 18th birthday celebration/graduation from high school/college send off party. it is especialy sweet because 10 years ago, when she had her heart transplant, the best we were told we could hope for was that she would live long enough to graduate high school. at least, that’s as far ahead as we dared look back then. so here she is, almost ten years out, not only going off to college, but she’s perhaps the healthiest person in the family. brings a tear to me eye.

but (and there’s always a but) with it being 75 degrees, i am pretty much quaranteened to my bedroom, where the ac is. heat is my kryptonite – it immediately sucks all my energry away. i was unloading the dishwasher this morning, and my wife made me stop, told me i should “save my spoons” for the party. (anyone who doesn’t know about the spoon theory, go here.) the creator of the spoon theory has her own web site, butyoudon’tlook sick, which i highly reccomend.

anyway, she sent me up to my room to chill (literally) and gave me the idea for a t-shirt design, “Save The Spoon,” which i will hopefully be able to follow up on soon. (please don’t steal my idea!) she said she understood how hard it was for me to feel that i couldn’t help or be an active part of the preparations. and it’s true, i have a very hard time not feeling useless, thinking that the word “invalid” breaks down to in-valid. i hate feeling in valid.

i see my son, home for the weekend from his new hampshire mountain job out in the yard setting up a croquet course, knowing i won’t be able to play. i know, i need to invest in a cooling vest so i can brave the kryptonite, but for today anyway, i’m stuck here in the fridge.

there’s more, but i’ll save it for later.

Share this Post

2 thoughts on “lovely day

Leave a Reply

