heat is relative

when joe cupo, our local TV weatherman,


gives the forecast, and says that “tomorrow with be 75-80 degrees, so it should be pretty comfortable…” i think, sure, at least it sounds better than 90. but even 80 wears me down, and by 3 or 4 pm, i am pretty wasted. i think that’s why i am tired all the time, and why i can do a little walker-ing in the morning, but pretty soon the cement blocks are back on my feet, and my arms get heavier and heavier as the day goes on, and my legs seize up and cramps start in the early afternoon. maybe it’s not the heat – even if it’s “only” 80 – but i’d rather assign my physical issues to external causes, rather than give in to the idea that it’s me.

i will admit that i read very few of my fellow bloggers posts, and i feel bad about that. but every now and then i find one that speaks to me (i’m sure i’d find more of them that do if i read more of them), but this was one such. such a simple thing as standing up is not always so simple – travis does a great job with few words describing all the things that make it difficult for some of us.

a shout out to my friends sharon and hal, who hosted us for dinner the other night, and very cheerfully rearranged their outside seating arrangement to accommodate my needs. and a special shout out to my wonderful wife alison, for being so thoughtful to figure out how to get me around to the patio and to suggest the change in furniture. sometimes a solution to what looks insurmountable to me, is right in front of my face. i am a very lucky man to be surrounded by such caring people, who are smarter than me (which isn’t really saying much.)

Leave a Reply

