Quick Hits

My wife tells me that, “If you want something done, ask a busy person.” It must be true. She is busy-woman_2one of the busiest people I know, and is somehow insanely productive – not only in her own business but in running our little household and taking care of me. I, on the other hand, have essentially nothing to do all day. Or at least nothing that anyone would miss if I didn’t do it. I have a little compost pile on my desk of notes to myself of things I want to get done “today.” That pile just keeps growing, and I never seem to get anything done. In the interest of posting at least something here, I offer a few quick hits.

  • I set up our DVR to record a selection of Olympic events, so that we could watch them on our schedule. I find that I have pretty much lost interest (except for the curling – can’t get enough!). But I am getting very excited about the upcoming Winter Paralympics, opening March 7. I could go on and on (my FB page has become something of a tribute to my obsession), but I will save that for when the games are underway.
  • The only time I seem to feel free of MS and the various difficulties it has placed before me is during those few hours when I am asleep. Maybe it’s the meds, but I very rarely remember my dreams. child-nightmareSo it was truly stunning to me when I woke up the other night startled and deeply troubled by a little tiny dream-let. I don’t know if you dream yourself disabled, I can’t recall ever having a dream of myself in a wheelchair. But the other night, I woke in the middle of the night with this fragment: I had just stood up, pulling on my pants, when I saw – literally – my lower legs suddenly vanish and I fell onto the bed. I lay there, awake, catching my breath (after checking to make sure my legs were still there), terrified by what I had seen in the dream. It is hard to convey the horror – I think this was the scariest nightmare I’ve ever had, as fleeting as it was. Perhaps it comes from the fact that it is something I ponder on quite a bit for realsies – the loss of the use of my legs. They don’t do me a lot of good now – I can stagger down the hall with a walker, I can heave myself into and out of the car and they ache and are the epicenter of spasticity in my body. But I can stand. At least for now.
  • There are probably thousands of blogs dealing with multiple sclerosis, people like me posting obervations about their lives. There is a small handful that I follow (see “Fellow Travelers,” over there on the right.) Usually, these bloggers post things that mirror what is on my mind (usually saying it better than I can.) One such post is “It’s not the disablility, it’s the…” from Mitch and Enjoying The Ride. He writes, “You often hear, ‘It’s not the heat, it’s the humidity.’ I say, ‘It’s not the disability, it’s the progression.'” Please read his words, and leave him a comment.
  • I loved this article from “Houzz,”about building ramps in the home. These are admittedly high-end designs, but nice to see access being created in such a beautiful way.

Next up: Meditation!

2 thoughts on “Quick Hits

    1. A pleasure, Mitch. Your attitude never fails to encourage me, and your words and thoughts so often mirror my own. This tiny on-line blogging community can be a powerful inspiration and strength.

Leave a Reply

