I’m down here!

iuHugging someone in a wheelchair is not all that different from hugging someone…not in a wheelchair. It doesn’t have to be like in the picture (the only image The Google was able to offer me). Although I bet that was one of best hugs either of these two ever had. It’s really pretty simple, if you think about it.

Just come down to my level. I’d come up to yours, but you can see how that’s not going to work. Pull up a chair or kneel down, squat if you have the leg strength. Hell, sit in my lap. We just need to be at eye level – the same as you would do if we were both standing. The rest should be self-explanitory.

That protocol also applies to holding a conversation with a person in a wheelchair. Craning my neck, trying to bridge the three feet between your height and mine, is uncomfortable. Neither of us wants to be in this physical relationship, me way down here and you way up there, but there’s nothing I can do about it.

I realize as I write this that I have not done my part in this dance. I have not suggested to the people who awkardly bend down to give me a hug that there is a better way.

So I’ll ask. Come down here and give me a hug. We’ll both be better off for it.

One thought on “I’m down here!

  1. You are ridiculously but wonderfully well adjusted. I applaud your ability to ask for hugs. I have great people in my life who freely hug me. I gladly accept them but I must admit I miss giving them.

Leave a Reply

