Smoothie

iuThis little machine, the Black and Decker Fusion Personal Blender, is my favorite household appliance. I won’t go so far as to say it’s changed my life, but it’s come close. Essentially a power drill with the business end pointing up, it’s fast, efficient and easy to clean up. I’m not shilling for B&W (tho if they wanted to toss a few promo gifts my way I wouldn’t report them for ethics violations), I’m just a satisfied customer.

My Breakfast Ritual

I stuff the bottle about half-full with greens (I keep a bag of cut-up kale in the freezer, spinach works well, too) and about 1/4 cup of water. Blend that up for a few seconds. Add a banana and frozen strawberries, blueberries, raspberries, or other frozen fruit (I get bags of cut-up fruit blends at the supermarket.) Fill the bottle almost to the top  with soy milk, and top with a heaping tablespoon of cocoa powder. A dash of cinnamon or ginger if I’m feeling sassy. Blend it all up until smooth, and enjoy.

Of course, this recipe is only a suggestion. Customize at will. Use whatever you have on hand. Try adding a bit of carrot, some peanut butter, coconut, other kinds of milk or  juice. More frozen fruit makes it like soft-serve. Dip into the spice rack – make your smoothie spicy with cumin or chili powder (don’t knock it ’til you’ve tried it). Go wild. You’re an adult.

Leave a Reply

