Image hosting by Photobucket

I might regret doing this, but I’m going to dive in anyway. This morning when I got dressed, I discovered that my favorite weekend jeans had somehow gotten remarkably smaller. I almost couldn’t button them up. And it struck me – all of the lectures from my doctors (how many of them are there now?), all of my own innner voice, even the story I heard on the radio the other day about excess weight being a factor in heart disease and sudden death (you’d think that expression would have been enough!). I’ve always beleived that my being overweight was a major factor in every other aspect of my health. It keeps me from sleeping well, it makes my back hurt, it makes my feet hurt, it makes me tire easily. Some of that is MS related, but I beleive that a lot of my current health complaints have to do with my being overweight.

I’m not a lot overweight, at least I don’t think so. 30 pounds, something like that. But I’ve always rationalized it away. Well, no more. Just like when I gave up smoking, I’ve come to feel that I just can’t do it any more.

So here’s what I’m going to regret. I plan to use this space as a record of my weight loss journey. It doesn’t matter really if no one reads this, or if the few people who do read it get bored and move on. I’m not doing it for you, I’m doing it for me. Maybe if I have this blog to add entries to, and now that I’ve made it public, I’ll feel more compelled to stick to it.

From here on, I hope, my life will never be the same. My plan is to work slowly, gradually improving my diet, eliminating (as much as is possible these days) sugar – that will be the first goal. Maybe going back to being a vegetarian. I don’t know. I do know that diets don’t work – I did the Atkins, which worked great as long as I stayed on the plan, but who can eat that way? I know that the only way to take the weight off and keep it off is to approach the thing as creating a way to eat that you can live with. And it means looking at it as allowing your body to find it’s best size. I might never fit the standard height/weight chart. But certainly being this heavy is not healthy.

Anyway, here I go. I’m off on vacation into the wilds of Quebec City for a week, which will be a challenge. More later.

This is really cool.

2 thoughts on “

  1. You have more gutts that I do! Way to go in making the decision to not only loose weight, but to let the world watch you do it. I’m impressed! I could only blog about it once I had already lost a significant amount!

Leave a Reply

