the world without us

just finished reading this book, a thoughtful examination of what we humans have done to the planet, and what it might do if we, suddenly, should vanish. my favorite passage:

“There will be plenty of surprises. Let’s face it: who would’ve predicted the existence of turtles? Who would ever have imagined that an organism would essentially turn itself inside out, pulling it’s shoulder girdle inside its ribs to form a carapace? If turtles didn’t exist, no vertebrate biologist would’ve suggested anything would do that: he’d have been laughed out of town. The only real prediction you can make is that life will go on. And that it will be interesting.”

just had my tysabri #11, maybe my last. i will be talking to my neuro in a few weeks, and will talk about whether or not to continue. i don’t really see the point. have continued to worsen the whole time i’ve been on this stuff, and it just seems pointless to me to continue.

but something has to change. i can’t keep on like this – i just don’t feel healthy. taking speed during the day, then clonopin or ambien to sleep at night, etc. maybe i just can’t get past the idea (even now, 5 years after dx) that these symptoms are somehow under my control. the idea that, if i get tired out after walking down the hall, it’s because my leg/back muscles are weak, and that by engaging in increased effort, i can build the strength. when in reality, my legs are fine, it’s my brain that is screwy.

but maybe dr. neuro can straighten me out.

One thought on “the world without us

Leave a Reply

